ENV1627 Details

EN 1627 Doors: Go into detail about the EN 1627 standard, how it is tested and what it means. (500-600 words)

EN 1627 specifies that certified security products meet minimum requirements for glazing, locking mechanisms and furniture (door handles/knobs). The following European standards are relevant:

EN 356 – security glazing testing and classification of resistance against manual attack. There are 8 levels of classification.

EN 1303 – cylinder lock testing and classification to measure standards such as corrosion, fire resistance and safety. There is an 8-digit code classification system; digit 7 relates to key related security and digit 8 measures attack resistance.

EN 12209 – requirements and testing of mechanical operated locks, latches and locking plates. Classification utilises an 11-digit code system; digit 7 refers to security and drill resistance.

EN 1906 – door furniture testing and classification to measure features such as durability and fire resistance. There is an 8-digit code classification system; digit 7 relates to security and burglary resistance.

The standards are applicable to each classification level within EN 1627 as follows:

Classification Level Glazing


Cylinder (digit 7)


Cylinder (digit 8)


Locks (digit 7)


Furniture (digit 7)


RC1 / RC1N* N/A EN 1303 (4) EN 1303 (1) EN 12209 (3) EN 1906 (1)
RC2 / RC2N* EN 356 (P4A) / N/A EN 1303 (4) EN 1303 (1) EN 12209 (3) EN 1906 (2)
RC3 EN 356 (P5A) EN 1303 (4) EN 1303 (1) EN 12209 (4) EN 1906 (3)
RC4 EN 356 (P6B) EN 1303 (6) EN 1303 (2) EN 12209 (7) EN 1906 (4)
RC5 EN 356 (P7B) EN 1303 (6) EN 1303 (2) EN 12209 (7) EN 1906 (4)
RC6 EN 356 (P8B) EN 1303 (6) EN 1303 (2) EN 12209 (7) EN 1906 (4)

*N class denotes those products fitted with standard glass

[Image: Montage of 2 or 3 images e.g. door handles/knobs, cylinders/locks]


In addition to a doorset or window meeting minimum hardware standards, EN 1627 utilises 3 type tests to determine classification:

Resistance – Static Loading

This test is carried out in accordance with EN 1628, and determines the overall mechanical strength of the product in addition to the level of resistance to forced entry. A hydraulic ram or similar is used to apply a specified load to particular points of the product (such as locking mechanisms, edges, door leaf etc.) for a set period of time.


Resistance – Dynamic Loading

EN 1629 governs the requirements for this test, which simulates a physical attack (including kicking and shoulder barging) in an attempt to force entry. The centre of the product is subject to 3 strikes by an impactor of a specified mass, with all other required impact points struck once.  This test is only required for RC 1 – RC 3.

Manual Burglary Attempts

This test, as stipulated in EN 1630, involves the use of a specified range of tool sets for specified times to attack the product in a bid to force entry. The maximum test time is the sum total of the resistance time, rest time, tool change time and observation time. This relates to each classification class as follows:

Classification Level Tool set


Resistance time


Maximum total test time


RC1* A1

(screwdriver, pliers, tweezer, torch)

RC2 A2

(pipe wrench, compass saw, hacksaw)

3 15
RC3 A3

(crowbar, locksmith hammer, hand drill)

5 20
RC4 A4

(club hammer, chisels, axe, drilling machine)

10 30
RC5 A5

(electric drill, electric jigsaw, saw blades)

15 40
RC6 A6

(angle grinder, spalling hammer, steel wedges)

20 50

*RC1 class does not require manual testing. The tool set A1 is only intended for preparation of the product test specimen

[Image: Montage of 2 or 3 images of tool types, e.g. crowbar and angle grinder]